Bows Keep Cracking

Decorating By Cazzaroony Updated 4 Apr 2011 , 8:52pm by robinmarie

Cazzaroony Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cazzaroony Posted 4 Apr 2011 , 3:22pm
post #1 of 9

Hi all

I am trying to do a present cake for my Mums 60th Birthday. So I am practising my bows. I have made 3 so far this afternoon and each one is cracking?? I have rolled out fondant icing and then placed kitchen paper in the loops to make the bow, but cracks are appearing and when I try and move them they crack even more icon_mad.gif

Am I not leaving them to dry long enough do you think?

I am new to this so please help!!

Thanks all

xxx icon_smile.gif

8 replies
aprilismaius Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aprilismaius Posted 4 Apr 2011 , 3:51pm
post #2 of 9

i think you are moving them too soon. let them dry overnight before touching them. personally, i have the best luck making bows out of a 1/2 fondant, 1/2 gumpaste mix. good luck!

kenlew Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kenlew Posted 4 Apr 2011 , 4:10pm
post #3 of 9

instead of making your loops laying flat with paper in the loop, make all your loops and lay them on their edge to dry. (so the loops will be on their sides, like tear drops). then let them dry overnight or longer. depending on the color of the fondant (moisture level) you may need to let them dry for several days or you can use a gum paste/fondant mixture.

by letting the loops dry on their edges, you won't need to stuff them with paper and the loops wont sag and crack.

once they are dry, you can trim the ends (where the two ends of the loop are "glued" together) with scissors to help the loops fit together to stack/assemble the bow.

I hope this helps. thumbs_up.gif

Cazzaroony Posted 4 Apr 2011 , 4:47pm
post #4 of 9

well!! thats just fab advice!!!! Im going to try again now and try to dry them on their sides...

I think I am too giddy trying to move them too soon.....