Cake Design Based On This Fabric?

Decorating By dukeswalker Updated 22 Apr 2011 , 2:57am by dukeswalker

dukeswalker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dukeswalker Posted 1 Apr 2011 , 1:27pm
post #1 of 14

I'm still very new to cake decorating and dont feel confident enough yet to begin creating and making my own designs - I feel much more comfortable seeing what some amazing cake decorator has created and trying to emulate their techniques.

I have a request for a baby shower cake using the fabric they have chosen as an inspiration....

http://www.hancocks-paducah.com/Item--i-WAVERLY-672750

Does anyone have any ideas or better yet a cake that I might be able to look at that shares some of the qualities of the fabric?

TIA!!! icon_biggrin.gif

13 replies
sweetaudrey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetaudrey Posted 1 Apr 2011 , 1:41pm
post #2 of 14

I love the background color on the material. That shade of blue is very nice. I have this vision of a cake in my head that kinda mimicks the fabric. You could trace on some of the flowers and paint them (if your good with that sort of thing). You could shape the flowers out of fondant and place them all over the cake. It would be a little more traditional with the fabric design all over it. That probably doesn't help any. I wish I could SHOW you the image I'm picturing lol...good luck anyways! thumbs_up.gif

KASCARLETT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KASCARLETT Posted 1 Apr 2011 , 1:50pm
post #3 of 14

That material is gorgeous!! Beautiful colors! I decorate cakes mainly as a hobby, but love taking ideas from invitations, napkins, etc....

According to the # of people invited, I would do either a 10" with 8" on top or 8" with 6" on top.