Aaaaahhhh, Aaaahhhh, Aaaaaaahhhhh!!! A Little Catharsis.

Decorating By emiyeric Updated 4 Apr 2011 , 2:41am by emiyeric

emiyeric Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
emiyeric Posted 1 Apr 2011 , 3:50am
post #1 of 16

Just letting off a little steam, in view of the fact that our wonderful CC Web site is again back to its normal self.

I'm making my best friend's wedding cake for Saturday as my gift, and have been thinking it out and designing it for several months. This cake is many firsts for me: first wedding cake, first wired flowers, with first floral tape, first 14-inch tier (a 12-inch is usually huge for me, as I am a hobbyist and rarely make large cakes), first looooong drive with a cake. All things considered, it's fairly low-stress, since it's a gift. The bride does not have an exact vision in mind that she is paying good money for, she will not be murderous if the lines aren't perfect or the blossoms just so. She is very appreciative, and a very sweet friend, and though she's excited about the cake, she is far from a bridezilla.

That being said .... AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!! I (stupidly!) started making my flowers out of fondant instead of gumpaste, and proceeded to break half of them before deciding to just start fresh with actual gumpaste this time. Wasted a bunch of hours in the meantime, and though I'm doing fine on time (provided no other huge problems arise), I'm cramped and grumpy over my mistake, and still very nervous about this coming out the way I want! I really really really want it to be pretty!

Anyhow! That's my steam ... I feel a little better now, and can go keep playing with sugar and wrapping my wires icon_smile.gif. Thanks for listening.

15 replies
ConfectionsCC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ConfectionsCC Posted 1 Apr 2011 , 4:12am
post #2 of 16