Fondant, Modeling Chocolate, Or Gum Paste Figures?

Decorating By olivialovesdogs Updated 23 Mar 2011 , 7:06pm by Claireybear1121

olivialovesdogs Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
olivialovesdogs Posted 23 Mar 2011 , 2:11pm
post #1 of 8

Hello everyone!I'm pretty new to cake decorating.

I am going to be making a 3-tier cake covered in fondant. I also want 3-4 (depending how difficult I find the figures to be) animal figures on it that are 2-4 maybe 4 1/2 inches tall. I'm pretty sure I'm leaning towards fondant or modeling chocolate. I researched the differences between the three but I keep coming up with different answers. I've even seen people suggest a mix of modeling chocolate and fondant. I'm just not sure what to use..

I plan to color my fondant, modeling chocolate, or gum paste, too. I also plan to color the fondant I am going to be using to cover my cake. Any tips on coloring these items would be greatly appreciated.

And if it matters I plan to make my animal figures (dogs and maybe a few other creatures) detailed.

Thanks in advance for any replies. ^-^

7 replies
imagenthatnj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
imagenthatnj Posted 23 Mar 2011 , 2:38pm
post #2 of 8

The difference is probably that the modeling chocolate will be delicious. I've heard some children telling me that they thought the figurines would taste better. lol

I haven't made chocolate ones yet, but I'm planning to, very soon.

Here's some good reading:

http://www.cakeswebake.com/forum/topics/modeling-chocolate-vs-gum?commentId=4635016%3AComment%3A18542

http://sugarsweetcakesandtreats.blogspot.com/2011/03/korean-hanbok-dol-cake.html

http://bubbleandsweet.blogspot.com/2010/06/chocolate-modeling-paste-and-making.html

http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopic-644869-next.html&sid=0f74ed22ab4859d063ce91e73b03fa36

pbhobby Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pbhobby Posted 23 Mar 2011 , 2:58pm
post #3 of 8