Baby Shower Cake...cake Balls Question Please Please Help

Decorating By chatnoir5638 Updated 22 Mar 2011 , 5:32pm by sweetmonkeycheese

chatnoir5638 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chatnoir5638 Posted 21 Mar 2011 , 6:12am
post #1 of 11

So I have a cake I am making for my daughter's playgroup tomorrow. Long story short, my cake that was supposed to be 3" high and 12 in diameter is now 1.5" high and looks squat like a torte. Very upsetting. I have not been feeling well all weekend and am at a crossroads: while I am very new to the playgroup and I DO NOT want to disappoint the group, I am TIRED of worrying about this thing and want to make it into cake balls.

1. What does everyone think about this idea? I can get 3 types of them (about 60+) from this cake easily and I know it will be relatively simple to do first thing in the morning.
2. Is it horrible of me to walk in with cake balls (which no one will mostly likely know what they are) when an actual cake is expected?
3. I realize this is pretty petty in the grand scheme of things, but I really want to make a good impression. Granted, this is a free thing (except not to me, of course!) and most people would prob either buy a cake or make one from a box.

Ok...hit me. What do you all think????? yea?nay?

10 replies
aztomcat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aztomcat Posted 21 Mar 2011 , 6:55am
post #2 of 11

Since its a kids playgroup....I would say cake balls would be great and easy to eat!

Just say you thought they would be just the thing for kids. Adults and kids are always amazed by them.

Good luck and feel better.

Dee in AZ

sweetmonkeycheese Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetmonkeycheese Posted 21 Mar 2011 , 7:45pm
post #3 of 11

I think you could get away w/ it since it's a kids thing, say it Toddler frendly cake! Kids love finger foods and so do most moms.

Minstrelmiss Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Minstrelmiss Posted 21 Mar 2011 , 7:56pm
post #4 of 11

Go for it!