Real Roses Help

Decorating By walterak Updated 17 Mar 2011 , 8:41pm by walterak

walterak Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
walterak Posted 17 Mar 2011 , 2:53pm
post #1 of 7

I am doing the attached cake for an acquaintance (she chose this design, it is NOT mine). I have done fake roses like this before, but she wants real because they have looked around and the only fake ones they like are way too expensive. I am not experienced with making the flowers so that is OUT.

How long will the real last?
Is it best to assemble with roses on site? I planned on that.
How do I avoid sticking them into the cake?
How do I do the topper without sticking nasty stems in the cake?

Get my drift? I have so many questions. ANYONE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE...I am BEGGING NOW! Please give me some advice. I posted this in another thread but got no answers.

6 replies
cricket0616 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cricket0616 Posted 17 Mar 2011 , 3:16pm
post #2 of 7

I have not worked with them directly, but I did have fresh flowers on my wedding cake (which was over 20 yrs ago). The bakery that made my cake delivered it to the venue and the florist came in behind her and placed the flowers on my cake. The baker/florist set up around 2PM and the reception started at 7PM. The venue was air conditioned.

I hope this helps until someone with more experience answers.

leafO Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leafO Posted 17 Mar 2011 , 4:44pm
post #3 of 7

Since the roses are btwn tiers you could place a very shallow dish on the top of your separator plate on the top of each tier. Then use some oasis floral foam that has been soaked in water and allowed to drain off any excess and put it on the dish. Then the flowers can be poked right into the foam and will stay fresh from the moisture in the foam. then place your next cake tier on top.