Fondant Or Marzipan?

Decorating By jessiqua7 Updated 10 Mar 2011 , 8:20pm by jessiqua7

jessiqua7 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jessiqua7 Posted 8 Mar 2011 , 8:31pm
post #1 of 6

Hi all,
I am making a birthday cake to look like a giant tire that is layed down on it's side. It's for a RC Car theme. I am going to decorate it with a bunch of RC Cars and such, but I have a few questions since I am a total beginner:

1. Which would be best to cover the entire circular cake when trying to make it look like a black tire? Fondant or Marzipan? (Should I use food coloring to paint on the tire or try to add food coloring to the dough?) It seems like I have to add a ton of food coloring to get the color I want and black is almost impossible but i see all kinds of cakes that are colored black.

2. I need to make a road way that is in the shape of a FIGURE 8, and is raised up in the middle so that cars can still go through the middle (underneath-create a bridge) Which is more durable or sturdy for something that needs to be able to stay stiff while spaning about 3-4 inches? Fondant or Marzipan?

Thank you for all your help and if you have any other suggestions for this project i really appriciate it!

5 replies
joycesdaughter111 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
joycesdaughter111 Posted 8 Mar 2011 , 8:46pm
post #2 of 6

Fondant. thumbs_up.gif

FromScratchSF Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FromScratchSF Posted 8 Mar 2011 , 8:55pm
post #3 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by jessiqua7

Hi all,
I am making a birthday cake to look like a giant tire that is layed down on it's side. It's for a RC Car theme. I am going to decorate it with a bunch of RC Cars and such, but I have a few questions since I am a total beginner: