12 Vs 14 ... Worth The Trouble? (A Little Long ...)

Decorating By emiyeric Updated 8 Mar 2011 , 2:44pm by lilmissbakesalot

emiyeric Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
emiyeric Posted 7 Mar 2011 , 4:18pm
post #1 of 26

I'll start off by saying I'm a hobbyist, so don't typically bake larger cakes ... I've done a 12-inch square, but that's about as grandiose as I've gotten.
I'm making the wedding cake for one of my closest friends next month as her gift, and it will all be a very laid back and friendly ceremony. She originally wanted to keep it very small, but the wedding has expanded as weddings will, so her gust list has increased (from about 60 to 80). Originally, I was going to make a bottom 12-inch round tier with some dummy tiers in the middle and a 6-inch round on top, more than enough for her initial estimate, but about 15 servings short for her new one.

She is very appreciative of my making the cake, and told me she will be ordering a cople dozen cupcakes regardless for kids and any extra servings she needs, and asked me not to change the design or worry about the extra servings. I feel like, if I'm going to make her the cake, I should make the stinking cake and not make "a portion of" the cake and have cupcakes for the missing servings (though she will have them anyway for kiddos).

Trouble is, my pans only go up to 12 inches, and I have no experience with anything bigger. Clearly, I could buy a 14-inch pan, but I'm nervous it will be more difficult than a 12-inch (which is big enough, as far as I'm concerned, to get me into trouble both with baking and decorating with a smooth flawless finish!), and I don't know if I should just stay with the original plan or try to go up a size higher. I am not terribly well equipped for large sizes, and wonder if this is the time to start practicing :/ ... I work 80-100 hours a week at my actual job, so it's not like a I have a lot of extra time to fix mistakes if it doesn't go well.