Experimenting With Cupcakes...question On Using Cookies

Baking By love2box Updated 22 Apr 2011 , 12:46am by corpsequeen

love2box Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
love2box Posted 6 Mar 2011 , 9:03pm
post #1 of 26

I have recently had this newfound interest in trying my hand at making different flavored cupcakes (I am a novice baker). I saw these cupcakes that had cookies on the bottom of the liner as a 'crust' and then the cupcake and frosting. The one inparticular had a GS Thin Mint (yum!) But, I've also saw one with an Oreo on the bottom and a CChip cookie.

Does anyone know how this is done? Wouldn't the cookie burn? Does the cookie soften up then baking?

I also see a lot of recipes that seem to use a standard basic base recipe and then they make different flavored cakes out of this one base. How is that done? An example would be great, just so I can understand the process.

I apologize if this has already been discussed. I tried a search but maybe I'm not using the correct words or phrases when searching.

25 replies
bobwonderbuns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bobwonderbuns Posted 6 Mar 2011 , 9:33pm
post #2 of 26

I've never heard of that, but it does sound tasty!! I know in the buttercream class I'm teaching now we have one student who brought in cupcakes and used an Oreo for the center of a sunflower on top of the cupcake. They were darling!!!

Best suggestion -- experiment, take lots of notes and let us know what happens!! icon_biggrin.gif

cabecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cabecakes Posted 6 Mar 2011 , 9:43pm
post #3 of 26