Where Did You Learn To Decorate

Decorating By sweetie629 Updated 25 Feb 2011 , 4:17am by sweetie629

sweetie629 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetie629 Posted 24 Feb 2011 , 1:58pm
post #1 of 13

Hi I am a beginner decorater, I've taken all three of Wilton's courses and am ready to further my training, however I don't know where. Can any of you share your training and how you got started as a cake decorator. Do you think the training I've had so far is enough to get started making cakes from home? Thanks for any advice

12 replies
bobwonderbuns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bobwonderbuns Posted 24 Feb 2011 , 2:11pm
post #2 of 13

That's how I started. What do you want to learn? There are lots of techniques out there and then some. I suggest you look at various cakes and whatever rocks your world, see what techniques are used on them. For example gumpaste flowers -- is that something you want to get into? If so, start looking for books and videos and asking lots of questions. Then try a few gumpaste recipes to see which ones you like. Then practice, practice, practice!! And most of all, have fun with it!! icon_biggrin.gif

Manderly42 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Manderly42 Posted 24 Feb 2011 , 2:13pm
post #3 of 13

I'm mostly self-taught. The techniques I've learned I've either found right here on CC, seen on tv shows like Cake Boss or Food Network Challenge or I google them. I'm no pro, by any means, and I still have a lot of learning to do, but I think I do okay.

If you've taken the classes, I don't know what else you'd need other than practice, practice, practice!! If you don't have orders or reasons to make a cake - make up a reason! Bring a cake to work, donate one to a local shelter/fire dept/charity - anything to make a practice cake! If you ever need help with a new technique (or an old one) then just ask - there are so many helpful people here on CC!!

Good luck and be sure to post pictures of all your cakes!!