Crimping Nightmare

Decorating By nanefy Updated 24 Mar 2011 , 9:24am by LisaPeps

nanefy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nanefy Posted 21 Feb 2011 , 6:34pm
post #1 of 12

Oh I've just spent the majority of the day on here (just a newbie member) and it's brilliant to learn from everyone.

I have been baking for about 2 years now, started with cupcakes and always said I was not interested in making cakes, but now I've started I am totally hooked and it has become an obsession. I go to bed thinking about cakes and it's the first thing I think about when I wake up.

Anyhoozle, my cake disaster was as follows:

about a month or so ago, someone at my mums work wanted a cake for her parents 60th wedding, which I was really excited about. I had all these ideas for a stacked round cake, really beautiful and something I could do fairly easily (I've not done that many cakes tbh but I'm not a total newbie). Anyway, turns out they did not want stacked round cake they wanted a square cake and only one layer. Because it's only one layer, it needed to be a decent size. So they wanted a 14" fondant covered cake.
Firstly my mum is not my best sales person - she told the lady that because I was only new to cake decorating that it would only cost her £30!!! Thanks mum! lol. All in I spent about £100 buying in supplies etc, however some of that stuff is stuff I'll use over and over again. Anyway, the lady got back to my mum and said that instead of me making the cake for the official party, that she just wanted it for at the house, for when people turned up during the week who couldn't make the party. So I was relegated because of my experience (I wont lie, it was a bit of a weight off my shoulders).