Color Rubbing Off On Cookie Bags

Baking By cake-angel Updated 22 Feb 2011 , 6:01am by cake-angel

cake-angel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cake-angel Posted 21 Feb 2011 , 5:08pm
post #1 of 10

Hi,
Sorry if this has been asked before. I have been reading and tried a few searches but haven't found any information on this. I am somewhat new to cookies overall but I have come across a situation where after the cookies are packaged some of the color from the decorating has been rubbing off onto the bags. I used the single bags from Michael's. The cookies were completely dry when I packaged them. It isn't like the cookies are sticking to the bag it is more like the surface color rubs off and adheres to the bag leaving a dull finish on the cookie when you remove them from the bag. The ones I pearl dusted seemed like the pearl dust all rubbed off. I was just wondering if anyone else has experienced this and looking for tips on preventing it if possible. Thanks!

9 replies
cheatize Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cheatize Posted 21 Feb 2011 , 5:35pm
post #2 of 10

What coloring are you using? I see how the pearl dust would brush off onto the bag, but not the coloring from the icing. I'm assuming you are mixing color into your icing and then decorating with icing and not decorating with white icing and then brushing the color on the cookie.

cake-angel Posted 21 Feb 2011 , 6:09pm
post #3 of 10

Hi cheatize,

You are correct. I am mixing the color into the icing first and then decorating. I used royal icing (meringue powder based) and out lining and then flooding the cookie. I am currently using Wilton colors as I have to use them when teaching. The pearl dust was added afterwards so I can see how that could happen but would be happy to not have it happen too (it was actually airbrush pearl I sprayed on). Thank you for taking the time to help me out.

cake-angel Posted 22 Feb 2011 , 12:00am
post #4 of 10