Getting Discouraged

Business By brittsaqtpie1 Updated 20 Feb 2011 , 3:16pm by Baker_Rose

brittsaqtpie1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brittsaqtpie1 Posted 18 Feb 2011 , 6:33pm
post #1 of 20

Hi all, I'm new here on the forum. I am a SAHM who just recently found a love of decorating cakes, I'm not a business yet but looking into it, so at the moment it is more of a hobby.

I have an ad on a local news site for my cakes and I have had 2 people request cakes only to back out because my prices are too expensive. But honestly they are not, I don't feel right asking for as much as professional cakes when I am just a beginner and still learning different things. Please understand I'm not trying to undercut other bakeries.

The most recent back out, a lady contacted me to make a 3d version of lightning mcqueen for her sons first birthday party. I told her $60 but she said that's too expensive I can get it cheaper elsewhere or I will make it myself. I just feel so bummed icon_sad.gif The only people who seem to give me experience/business and actually don't mind paying for my cakes are friends and family.

I just feel discouraged icon_sad.gif

19 replies
cakegrandma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakegrandma Posted 18 Feb 2011 , 6:43pm
post #2 of 20

If you are not a licensed business you should not be advertising to sell your cakes. The health dept or dept of agriculture can close you down and even fine you. Secondly, it is against the law to sell any licensed character or reproduce it. The license holders go after people you do so, fines can be very hefty. Even taking the ingredients from someone to make a cake is the same as being paid for it, thus a business.
I would suggest that you check into licensing your business in the state you live in, perhaps they allow home based baking. If they do, you can not sell licensed characters.
Good luck with trying to find out how to go legal and let us know what happens.
evelyn