Using Playdoh Molds - Help!

Decorating By shell2633 Updated 12 Feb 2011 , 4:43pm by Alfiesmom

shell2633 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shell2633 Posted 10 Feb 2011 , 11:15pm
post #1 of 9

OK< this may sound stupid but I am new to cake decorating and have limited access to cake supply stores. I am making a monkey cake (well, actually, 2 cakes for twins). The mom wants one similar to one she saw on here. It has trees and banana leaves which are no problem since I can cut them out with my cricut cake. But it has a monkey on top and 3d bananas. I am not the greatest with modeling things from fondant or gumpaste. But my son has a TON of playdoh stuff, and there is a perfect monkey and banana mold in there. I was just wondering if anyone has ever done this. Any help is appreciated.

8 replies
SugarandSpice3674 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarandSpice3674 Posted 10 Feb 2011 , 11:30pm
post #2 of 9

if u want to use the molds id say they'd work, just dust with cornstarch to make sure nothing sticks, if u do want to try making models/figurines there are some awesome tutorials out there, they take the intimidation out of something like that. you tube has some good ones. Good luck!

DianeLM Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DianeLM Posted 10 Feb 2011 , 11:30pm
post #3 of 9

Sure! Clean it well first, of course. You may need to give the mold a VERY light coat of shortening or sprinkle with cornstarch.

If it's a deep mold, you may need to pop it in the freezer for 5-10 minutes before unmolding.

lynn1968 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lynn1968 Posted 10 Feb 2011 , 11:48pm
post #4 of 9

i'm wondering if i can do the same thing with ceramic moulds. there are tons of 'em out there and if you can come up with the cash you can snag tons of 'em fairly cheap. i don't reckon a ceramic mould would be toxic, or would it?

SugarandSpice3674 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarandSpice3674 Posted 11 Feb 2011 , 7:31am
post #5 of 9