My First Wedding Cake...help Needed!

Decorating By kelbel404 Updated 4 Feb 2011 , 9:54pm by MamaD77

kelbel404 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kelbel404 Posted 4 Feb 2011 , 6:44pm
post #1 of 6

Hi all,

Kind of thrown myself into the deep end and offered to make my friends wedding cake for her in a few months. Seemed a good idea at the time, now I'm actually quite scared. I'm self taught at cake baking and only ever get my information from the web. Is it correct to say that I cover the cake in regular sugarpaste/fondant? The only reason I ask is because whenever I use this for my novelty cakes, I always get cracking no matter how much of the stuff I use, and obviously you can get away with it for novelty cakes but not for wedding cakes as they need to be immaculate.

Any help or tips would be GREATLY appreciated

icon_smile.gif

5 replies
divinecc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
divinecc Posted 4 Feb 2011 , 7:11pm
post #2 of 6

Maybe you are not kneading it enough before you place it on the cake. If you pinch a small section and it cracks keep kneading until it is smooth or you may not be putting it on fast enough and it's drying!

Rosiepan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rosiepan Posted 4 Feb 2011 , 7:32pm
post #3 of 6

I agree with Divine .You need to work pretty quick as once it starts to dry it will crack. Using too much icing sugar wil do it too. I am self taught too and my sons wedding cake was my first I was as nervous as you. I kept it simple staying within my skill level and it turned out ok. I got lots of compliments. I would suggest Keep practising on small cakes and even buying some quality sugarpaste(Says me who only uses Asda's(Walmart).
Ask to see what the proffesionals recommend.
Don't panic I am sure you will do fine.

Cake_whiz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cake_whiz Posted 4 Feb 2011 , 9:00pm
post #4 of 6