Quest For The Perfect Fondant

Decorating By countrycaker Updated 25 Jan 2011 , 2:52pm by ycknits

costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 20 Jan 2011 , 12:19am
post #31 of 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by cplfernandez

Is candy clay the same as the candy melts made by Wilton, etc...??

You can make it with that, but you can also make it with real chocolate, so that tastes better. I have the recipes on the discussion tab on my facebook page. You have to click the arrow at the top of the page on the tabs to open it up, but it's there. http://www.facebook.com/acaketoremember

costumeczar Posted 20 Jan 2011 , 12:27am
post #32 of 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinkpiggie78

IMHO, choco-pan is a disaster to work with. It claims to not tear, but that is all I get. Maybe I just don't know how to use it right. I do love it for modeling though. I made the birds in my gallery with it.

I've never used it before because I just make my own fondant other than red and black. Now I won't buy any, thanks for the warning!

pinkpiggie78 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pinkpiggie78 Posted 20 Jan 2011 , 12:36am
post #33 of 62

It could just be me costumeczar... I have had some issues with Satin Ice being extremely dry and cracking as well (and I roll out on shortening on a silicon mat).

If there are any chocopan experts out there, please enlighten me icon_smile.gif

costumeczar Posted 20 Jan 2011 , 1:31am
post #34 of 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinkpiggie78

It could just be me costumeczar... I have had some issues with being extremely dry and cracking as well (and I roll out on shortening on a silicon mat).

If there are any chocopan experts out there, please enlighten me icon_smile.gif

I just heard on good authority that Satin Ice has been straightening out their production facility and they've got the "recent troubles" sorted out. That could have been the trouble you had??

pinkpiggie78 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile