Candy Coating

Sugar Work By pastryqueen9 Updated 14 Jan 2011 , 1:13pm by pastryqueen9

pastryqueen9 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pastryqueen9 Posted 9 Jan 2011 , 11:03pm
post #1 of 18

I just wanted to get opinions on what's the best brands of candy coating or chocolate to dip cake balls is. Is it best to use the candy coating or melted/tempered chocolate? What kind of flavor do the candy coatings have and can you add flavoring? I've never used them before.

17 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 10 Jan 2011 , 10:31am
post #2 of 18

I like Merkens best.

pastryqueen9 Posted 10 Jan 2011 , 4:06pm
post #3 of 18

Thanks Leah...I haven't tried Merkens yet I have some up in the cabinet I think I'll try them tomorrow thumbs_up.gif

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 10 Jan 2011 , 5:23pm
post #4 of 18

I tried Claussen (Klassen?) once and did NOT like it.

sugarshack Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarshack Posted 11 Jan 2011 , 4:45am
post #5 of 18

merkens, guittards are my favs. almond bark from grovery works very well too.

karabeal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karabeal Posted 11 Jan 2011 , 5:02am
post #6 of 18

I tried Wilton's "Premium Light Cocoa" melts this weekend for the first time. Blech! It is not a passable substitute for milk chocolate.

Neelas_wife Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Neelas_wife Posted 11 Jan 2011 , 5:04am
post #7 of 18

Merkens Merkens Merkens! Look no furthericon_smile.gif

karabeal Posted 11 Jan 2011 , 5:28am
post #8 of 18

Do the milk/semisweet Merkens chocolates need to be tempered? Or can they be melted without close supervision the way "candy melts" can be? I'm terrible at tempering icon_cry.gif , but I expect chocolate (milk and semisweet) to taste and feel like chocolate. Between my experiences with not-quite-tempered real chocolate and "candy melts," I've become discouraged.