Freezing Cakes=Bulging Butter Cream??

Decorating By KarisCakes Updated 6 Jan 2011 , 6:12am by Claire138

KarisCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KarisCakes Posted 5 Jan 2011 , 5:10pm
post #1 of 11

Hi Friends,
I am new to decorating. Recently I started freezing cakes before decorating so that they would be easier to stack etc. However, the last two layer cakes I made started to bulge the butter cream out the sides. I know I didn't put too much in. I am wondering if the cakes are "relaxing" as they thaw and therefore pushing the icing out. I really like freezing the cakes, because it causes so much less breaking. I'm not sure if this is just a coincidence.
Anyone have any experience in this area?

10 replies
FullHouse Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FullHouse Posted 5 Jan 2011 , 6:16pm
post #2 of 11

I've never frozen cakes, so I can't say if that is causing your bulging. I refrigerate my cakes both before and after filling, icing & decorating. That helps them from settling and a cake cold from the fridge is easy to handle, not so sturdy as a frozen cake would be but still strong enough to move around.

KarisCakes Posted 5 Jan 2011 , 6:23pm
post #3 of 11

Fullhouse,
Do you worry that your cakes settle and bulge after you deliver them?

CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 5 Jan 2011 , 6:46pm
post #4 of 11

Cakes settle as they thaw which tends to cause the icing to bulge between the layers.

Leah_s started a thread about this:
http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-633571-trick.html

Hope you find it helpful.

live2create Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
live2create Posted 5 Jan 2011 , 7:07pm
post #5 of 11