I'm Afraid To Make This Cake... Buttercream Tt

Decorating By Pamcakes3 Updated 5 Jan 2011 , 4:00pm by Pamcakes3

Pamcakes3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pamcakes3 Posted 5 Jan 2011 , 3:51am
post #1 of 9

I know I'm psyching myself out, but I've never made a topsy turvy cake - I totally ripped myself off when I quoted this cake, but I'm in generous mode becuase I'm a recent graduate and have never made this style before.

Here's what she wants - a 3tier topsy turvy cake to feed 25-30 people (is that even possible???) White cake for bottom and top, strawberry for center - Buttercream - no fondant. Challenging much?

I've looked around on this board and you all seem pretty helpful - I really don't want to have a panic attack about this cake - LOL

Here are my questions:

How big should my cakes be to get an affective look for a 3 tiered cake that's not going to have an abundance of waste for 30 people?

Do you know of a sturdy, carvable strawberry cake recipe?

What's the easiest way to accomplish this with buttercream? Prayer?

Thanks in Advance I really appreciate any information!

8 replies
NanaSandy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NanaSandy Posted 5 Jan 2011 , 4:10am
post #2 of 9

I don't have much advice for you, but wanted to welcome you to CC. Have you tried looking in the recipe section for a strawberry cake recipe?
I hope somebody else chimes in with some answers for you!!
Good lucking and happy baking!!

cakeflake80 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeflake80 Posted 5 Jan 2011 , 4:22am
post #3 of 9

I have a topsy turvy cake in my gallery that I did with buttercream...only the decorative accents are fondant. It's really not that much different than doing buttercream on a regular cake. As for the three tiers, I would try to talk the customer into a 2 tier if it only needs to feed that many people. My biggest fear with the tt cake was stability. I used SPS and it survived the 40 minute ride to deliver it.