First Expo Help-Samples, Ideas, Set Up

Business By cupcakesnbuttercream Updated 7 Jan 2011 , 5:22pm by shorty56

cupcakesnbuttercream Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupcakesnbuttercream Posted 4 Jan 2011 , 10:03pm
post #1 of 6

I will be participating in a very small 'Entrepreneur Expo', and will be the only baker/Cake Decorator in attendance. This is my first time doing an event like this so I would like tips, tricks, or ideas on what I could do.

I will be offering samples(What is the most efficient way to present them? Cupcake, sliced cake, etc and what about containers or packaging them?)

I will have 1 or 2 giveaways(If I offer a voucher for a free cake, what restrictions should I make clear? Should I 'raffle off' a pre-made cake?)

I have business cards and will make signage.

I will have a few examples of my cakes(should I make designs geared toward upcoming holidays/events? Valentines, superbowl,etc)

How should I present photos of previous work I have done?

5 replies
shorty56 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shorty56 Posted 7 Jan 2011 , 3:54am
post #2 of 6

good luck with your first show! I'm done a couple small shows, they're usually a ton a fun, and a great experience. (i'm gearing up for my first really big show, so i haven't done a large one yet)

regarding samples: i think most people will agree its often easiest to have your samples packaged in a 3 or 4 oz plastic souffle cup with a lid. i've done mini cupcakes before, and the pre packaged cups are easier imho. print labels for the top of the lid so that if they take them home they know where they came from. make sure you remember tiny forks, napkins and a trash can.

regarding giveaways: never do them, so can't really offer any help.