Dream Whip Question

Baking By PersonalizedCupcakes Updated 15 Jan 2011 , 7:18pm by PersonalizedCupcakes

PersonalizedCupcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PersonalizedCupcakes Posted 4 Jan 2011 , 2:19pm
post #1 of 10

Hello, I found a great chapmagne cake recipe that used Dream Whip. I have never used Dream Whip before nor have ever made this recipe before, but the cake came out wonderfully - light and moist! I was wondering what Dream Whip does to a cake batter and if I should consider putting it into my other cake recipes.

Do any of you work with Dream Whip? Is it a staple for you? What does the Dream Whip actually contribute to a cake recipe?

Thank you for your input!!!! icon_biggrin.gif

9 replies
SCNYCharlie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SCNYCharlie Posted 4 Jan 2011 , 2:28pm
post #2 of 10

I use the powdered packets of dream whip in all my cakes it gives the cake a nice fluffy moistness. I'd def. reccomend it. icon_biggrin.gif

infinitsky Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
infinitsky Posted 4 Jan 2011 , 2:50pm
post #3 of 10

I always wanted to know about dream whip in cake mix too, so now I googled and found this....

1 box dry cake mix (just the powder itself)
4 large eggs
1 cup water
1 package dream whip

Read more of this snippet here : http://www.practicallyedible.com/edible.nsf/pages/dreamwhip#ixzz1A4trbQXw

and here are 2 other threads about using dream whip, I have not read the comments (do not have too much time right now) but I thought you might find them useful.

http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopicp-210839.html

http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-20870-.html

HTH

Edited to add: There are a few variations for adding dream whip to cake mix. If any one has a prefered variation which is tested and true, I really like to know.
Thanks in advance. icon_smile.gif

PersonalizedCupcakes Posted 4 Jan 2011 , 5:04pm
post #4 of 10