Talking To Customers Who Have A "cake Mix" Palate

Business By bostont Updated 19 Jan 2011 , 9:40am by scp1127

bostont Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bostont Posted 3 Jan 2011 , 5:30am
post #1 of 94

I've ~read the post on cake mix vs. scratch made, and after around 100 pages, I realized that the topic on that thread is not what I'm trying to understand. So..

I am a scratch baker, using fresh, natural and organic ingredients when are available. So, when I graduated from pastry school and launched a cake business, I thought people would love the cakes I bake.

I understand that scratch made cakes have a different texture and mouth feel. But apparently, there are a lot of people out there that don't.

A box mix had a moist, tender, "melt in your mouth" feel.... scratch cakes don't necessarily have this. Now, some scratch cakes do... my chocolate, etc. But my white and yellow cakes just don't seem to compare to the box mixes.

Although I can taste the chemicals in those purchased mixes, I've sadly begun to realize that most of my customers cannot... they have trained their palettes to expect that flavor, that texture and that "melt in your mouth" mouth feel from a box mix in spite of all the chemicals used in their formulas.

So, my question is to professional cake bakers... how do you feel about this? Are you using cake mixes? Are you scratch bakers? And for those scratch bakers... how do you talk to a client that says "I just see your cake as a delivery device for your icing."

I don't want to be rude, and I certainly believe that a bride deserves to have exactly what she wants on her wedding day. So... should I reconsider and use box mixes?

93 replies
Loucinda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Loucinda Posted 3 Jan 2011 , 5:49am
post #2 of 94

I am in business to make money. Making money requires that I make what my clients want/like. I KNOW what sells, therefore, that is what I make.