Any Advise Covering A Carved Cake With Modeling Chocolate???

Decorating By VickyAton Updated 9 Mar 2011 , 7:53am by new2bake

VickyAton Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
VickyAton Posted 31 Dec 2010 , 2:25am
post #1 of 20

I am covering a carved vintage car cake with modeling chocolate, which I have never used before, is it much different to handle than fondant? The cake is not too huge, so I should be able to work quickly, but I have never done this before and any advise would be appreciated.
thank you

19 replies
candicemarie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
candicemarie Posted 31 Dec 2010 , 5:50am
post #2 of 20

i aked the same question an was told to privte message steady2hands or Anasasi but they havent gotten back, but you migght give it a shot

icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 31 Dec 2010 , 6:46am
post #3 of 20

hi, i am the one that told you to p/m these two. i did and they both answered me. so now i am gonna try to send you the p/m from anasasi. then i will try to find steady2hands p/m back to me.

http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=Private_Messages&file=index&folder=savebox&mode=read&p=3533964

this is the cake that steady2hands made. she tells how she did it. cakes covered with modeling chocolate and drapes with modeling chocolate with some fondant. but again the cakes are covered with modeling chocolate.

http://.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=141373

icer101 Posted 31 Dec 2010 , 7:00am
post #4 of 20

here is a p/m from her also. i asked her several questions about her beautiful cake.
hope this helps you both. i have not done this yet, but will be my project soon.

http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=Private_Messages&file=index&folder=inbox&mode=read&p=3463309

JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 31 Dec 2010 , 9:18am
post #5 of 20

icer101, those links take me back to my own pm's directory....

But you can Quote or Copy & Paste the info to share here.

HTH