My Friend Offered To Start My Business

Business By TheBlonde Updated 4 Jan 2011 , 3:47pm by -K8memphis

TheBlonde Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheBlonde Posted 27 Dec 2010 , 11:08pm
post #1 of 25

So I have this friend. We have been friends for 15 years now and he's been staying at my house for the past month while he is on leave from the military. Anyways, we were talking the other night and out of the blue he offered to give me all the money I need to open my own bakery. I don't know what to do! I LOVE my day job which has nothing to do with baking but I've always dreamed of opening my own shop. (I'm a manager and my company has been sending me on quite a few business trips. I really do love my job) I'm a single mom to my 6 year old daughter though and I need the steady paycheck. Really though, how many people get this chance? I wouldn't even have to pay him back, he would just be the co-owner...I'm so confused right now!!!

24 replies
cownsj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cownsj Posted 27 Dec 2010 , 11:18pm
post #2 of 25

That's quite an offer. Congratulations. Before you even think to get to the step of spending money, I'd make sure you have a good, solid business plan, and contract with your friend. It will protect both of you and spell things out very clearly. That's vital to any business and will tell you if this is really a good idea or not. You might not find it's worth it at all, or you may find you are better off starting it part time, or jump right in.

Just remember that it's very difficult to mix friends and money. Ask yourself too if that is worth the risk. Even with it being a "gift" and him being a partner. If it doesn't work, he could end up resenting you, and if it's a huge success you may resent his ownership. Just more food for thought.

justducky Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
justducky Posted 27 Dec 2010 , 11:21pm
post #3 of 25