How Do You Prepare Your Pans?

Decorating By YorkieMaMa Updated 27 Dec 2010 , 6:50pm by Mb20fan

YorkieMaMa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
YorkieMaMa Posted 24 Dec 2010 , 10:00pm
post #1 of 37

I am fairly new to cake decorating and learned by using Wiltons Cake Release. It works really well, but wonder how each of you prepare your pans. I would like to try another method in case I find something I like better, or run out of Cake Release in the middle of cake baking.

36 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 24 Dec 2010 , 10:03pm
post #2 of 37

I just use parchment in the bottom of my pans.

But another pan release that's great is:

Combine equal parts shortening and flour then mix in an equal amount of oil.

So that's equal parts of each. Great stuff.

cupcakesnbuttercream Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupcakesnbuttercream Posted 24 Dec 2010 , 10:33pm
post #3 of 37

Parchment on the bottoms, Crisco on the sides.

-K8memphis Posted 24 Dec 2010 , 11:03pm
post #4 of 37

A thought about that is that cakes can climb better/higher if there's no grease on the sides--you do have to release it with a knife around the edge when it's time to de-pan but...just a thought.

cakeandpartygirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeandpartygirl Posted 24 Dec 2010 , 11:21pm
post #5 of 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by -K8memphis

I just use parchment in the bottom of my pans.

But another pan release that's great is:

Combine equal parts shortening and flour then mix in an equal amount of oil.

So that's equal parts of each. Great stuff.

I use it all of the time and it works wonders!!!!!

FlourPots Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FlourPots Posted 24 Dec 2010 , 11:30pm
post #6 of 37

I butter (sometimes Crisco) the sides...a little on the bottom so the parchment will stay put...then a little right on top of the parchment.

I won't bake without parchment.

mclaren Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mclaren Posted 24 Dec 2010 , 11:34pm