Royal Icing Tastes Awful!

Baking By SweetSyren Updated 20 Dec 2010 , 11:41pm by Sassy74

SweetSyren Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetSyren Posted 20 Dec 2010 , 1:48pm
post #1 of 12

So I made wiltons royal icing recipe and thinned it down w/ water for my sugar cookies. But the icing tastes awful!!!! What can I add to it to make it tastes edible??? Also, for the future, is it better to use royal or a glaze? This is my first year making holiday cookies. Thanks!!

11 replies
Elcee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Elcee Posted 20 Dec 2010 , 2:08pm
post #2 of 12

It's sugar and water, so no, it's not going to taste good. It's better once it's on the cookie but I always add LOTS of flavoring.

FullHouse Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FullHouse Posted 20 Dec 2010 , 2:18pm
post #3 of 12

Try almond extract or Creme Bouquet (small amount). Agreed, it does not taste good on its own and you need to wait for it to harden on the cookie, soft RI... ick.

LindaF144a Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LindaF144a Posted 20 Dec 2010 , 3:05pm
post #4 of 12

Hmmm, I disagree. I always taste my RI soft and it tastes good. I don't use the Wilton recipe and I also prefer pasteurized egg whites. I use the recipe Alton Brown has posted on food network website. I don't even taste the. Lemon juice.

But I have read that meringue powder RI and egg white RI taste different and I agree. That is why I switched to egg white RI.

We are decorating cookies today and I am using glaze. I like the taste of that way better than RI even if I am using egg whites. There is an after taste to RI that is not there with glaze recipe.

luv2bake6 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luv2bake6 Posted 20 Dec 2010 , 6:58pm
post #5 of 12

I agree. There is definately a diff in taste b/w glace and ri. I use glace to flood and ri for decorations (it's more reliable to stay where i pipe it as opposed to glace)

bobwonderbuns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bobwonderbuns Posted 20 Dec 2010 , 7:02pm