Would You Outsource The Baking To Someone Else?

Business By taria Updated 13 Dec 2010 , 9:12pm by cai0311

taria Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
taria Posted 9 Dec 2010 , 6:49pm
post #1 of 21

I bake cakes for friends and family, and I love, love, love the cake decorating part of any project. When people see my cakes they often ask me why I haven't gone into business for myself.

Here's the thing: going into business is not as simple as posting a "Cakes for Sale" sign in my living room window. People don't understand the true costs associated with operating a legal business (commercial insurance, rent, utilities, licensing costs, etc.). AND baking/decorating is a hobby for me...an outlet. I believe that if I baked for a living, I'd grow to hate it icon_redface.gif That's mostly because I only truly enjoy the cake decorating. I could seriously do without the baking thumbsdown.gif . So then I got to thinking: "Is there a way to get someone else to do the baking for me??"

If you could outsource a large part of your baking (to a legal commercial kitchen, of course), would you?

I know bakers outsource other parts of the cake (decorations), so why not the actual cake itself? When I do cakes for friends, they want cakes that taste great, no doubt, but what they're mostly looking for is that "WOW" factor.

Just curious as to how others feel about this.

20 replies
leily Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leily Posted 9 Dec 2010 , 6:53pm
post #2 of 21

Personally i probably wouldn't. If I did i would want my recipes used, not someone elses. So then i'd be getting into confindentiality agreements about my recipes, not being used for others, not sharing etc....

I would rather hire someone to work for me to do the baking instead of outsourcing it.

But there is a market for it.... lots of grocery stores and supercenter bakeries bring in cakes made elsewhere in mass production.

taria Posted 9 Dec 2010 , 7:04pm
post #3 of 21