One Cake, Two Cakes Or Mini Cakes?

Decorating By IgemZ Updated 8 Dec 2010 , 9:45pm by IgemZ

IgemZ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
IgemZ Posted 8 Dec 2010 , 5:48pm
post #1 of 11

Hi everyone..

I hope I put this post in the right thread but I really need some suggestions, ideas, input from more experience people like YOU. icon_biggrin.gif

I'm fairy new to the site.. Have been doing a lot of research on cake decoration lately and I have an event at work Christmas eve that I need help with.
To give you a little history, I am not new to cakes however I am new to fondant and decorating. Besides your regular glaze, bundt cake icing and small decorations I did not know much except I wanted to try.

After many weeks of googling lol ...I made some trial MMF just to get familiar and see if it's something I can manage and I am confident that I can do a pretty good job...

Anyway, to make a long story short. I have an office party where I was going to make my already asked for rum cake and some people cannot have the rum one and asked for chocolate. That's not a problem.

The problem is I REALLY want this cake or cakes to stand out for a few reasons.. I thought of many options and I am still debating which route to go.

Idea #1

I first thought of doing the cake in one pan, half rum, half chocolate using this tilt method to keep the two separate..More of a rectangular cake covered with MMF, with some Xmas trees (RKT with fondant maybe? opinion welcome).. a snowman, snow, edible glitter and a candy candy style fondant as the border. So basically a rectangular cake with two flavors and a snow scene on top. Would have to buy alot more supplies for this one and although I am creative I would be scared of something going wrong with this busy scene.

Idea #2