Badger Airbrush System

Decorating By BosCakes Updated 7 Dec 2010 , 5:52pm by Malakin

BosCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BosCakes Posted 6 Dec 2010 , 8:44pm
post #1 of 4

My local cake store is offering 2 different Badger Complete Airbrush Systems- the Whirlwind with dual-action brush for $179.99 and the Cyclone with dual-action brush and large cup for $199.99. Are either of these good deals, or should I just go with geraldine's (creative cutters) complete system for $140? I'm a beginner airbrusher, but I don't want to put money into one and end up wanting a better one a few months down the line. $200 is my max, so i can't get the Airmaster. Thanks!

3 replies
BosCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BosCakes Posted 6 Dec 2010 , 11:14pm
post #2 of 4

Santa needs to know anyone's advice...anyone? Please?

ibmoser Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ibmoser Posted 7 Dec 2010 , 5:43pm
post #3 of 4

I know nothing about the Geraldine's system. I have the Badger Cyclone compressor and a Badger Crescendo dual-action airbrush. I have bought an Iwata airbrush that I much prefer - just needed a different hose to connect to the Cyclone. My biggest complaint with the Badger airbrush is (believe it or not) that it doesn't have a cover on the pigment cup. The Cyclone is LOUD but it does the job. My compressor did not come with a pressure gauge or moisture trap - I had to buy those separately. I have taken several airbrush classes and like the small compressors I have seen from Harbor Freight - they have several models for under $100 that have the gauges. Bronwen used them for students in her airbrush class. TCP Global sells several decent dual-action airbrushes (with covers on the pigment cups LOL) for under $50.

Malakin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Malakin Posted 7 Dec 2010 , 5:52pm
post #4 of 4