How To Get Into Cake With Limitations

Business By TBallad Updated 8 Dec 2010 , 2:49pm by hsmomma

TBallad Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TBallad Posted 6 Dec 2010 , 3:22pm
post #1 of 19

I'm hoping this community can help me think outside the box. I have been baking cakes for nearly a decade for friends and family, and have had a few requests for my cakes and desserts. Unfortunately I live in a state (IL) that does not allow home kitchens. I also have four young children, two of whom have special needs, that I homeschool.

Professionally, I am a writer. I write mostly online articles but have also published three books. My most active client is starting to wane, and I'm really hoping that I can bring my baking talents more to the forefront of my work and life than just making birthday cakes for my kids, etc.

Does anyone have any suggestions? I've considered starting a website with cake tutorials, recipes, etc. but I'm not sure how that would really add much to the wealth of information that's already out there. What would you love to see in a site that you can't find elsewhere?

I've also been investigating the idea of baking cakes for other decorators -- I'm a decent decorator, but I'm an amazing baker! -- and shipping nationwide, but with what I would have to charge just to break even on kitchen rental, plus overnight shipping, I don't think it would be cost effective for decorators to purchase my cakes, no matter how good they are. I'm looking at between $60-$75 per cake, which is more than some decorators charge for a completed cake. Maybe I'm wrong. I could possibly do cookies or cupcakes too. I'm also wondering if selling undecorated cakes to decorators would be a way for others in my situation -- living in a state that does not allow home kitchens -- to get into the cake business without offending the health department. Anyone have thoughts on that?