Mad Hatters Tea Party Cake - Price??

Decorating By Jennyc28 Updated 10 Dec 2010 , 7:45pm by Jennyc28

Jennyc28 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jennyc28 Posted 6 Dec 2010 , 11:40am
post #1 of 5

Hey everyone, I'm a newbie/amateur cake maker, currently just making cakes for fun or for family and friends birthdays. I'm hoping to eventually get into the cake making business full time (maybe in a few years) so, aside from needing a lot more practice in the meantime, I'm trying to research into what my costs would be, my likely turnover etc.

I recently made an Alice in Wonderland "Mad Hatters Tea Party" cake (picture in "my photos") and wondered if someone could give me an idea of what sort of price I would charge for something like that? I apologise in advance for the poor photo quality and the fact that poor Alice lost her legs during transportation (obviously I would never give something like to a customer!) but if that hadn't happened and it was a professional cake, what sort of price would I be looking at? It was only a small cake (would serve 6-10 people depending on portion size) and I would say took me about 12-14 hours altogether, mainly on making the figures, as this was my first time making them.

Thanks!

4 replies
kelleym Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kelleym Posted 6 Dec 2010 , 2:12pm
post #2 of 5

It's hard to say because of the small size of the cake. The figure work alone is worth $150 - $200, depending where you are, but I don't know anyone that would want to pay that much for decorative work on a 10 serving cake.

That cake is really pretty, but the level of detail is generally something you'd reserve for a "hobby" cake (ie: you're doing it for free or your own pleasure), or a very large order for a corporate event, wedding, or quince, where they're paying $500+ anyway and have an expectation of paying a lot for a grand cake.

Jennyc28 Posted 6 Dec 2010 , 2:53pm
post #3 of 5