Fondant/gumpast Figures

Decorating By SummerSweets Updated 23 Nov 2010 , 11:01pm by steffiessweet_sin_sations

SummerSweets Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SummerSweets Posted 22 Nov 2010 , 7:24pm
post #1 of 6

Hey all I have an order for a children's Christmas cake. I am new to selling my cakes. The lady requested a 9X13" sheet cake (white cake with buttercream frosting) and gave me creative control icon_lol.gif Well after doing some brainstorming I came up with some ideas, but I'm not sure how to price according to the details.
The simplest idea is a little scene with fondant/gumpaste penguins... I've seen other cakes with this same theme so I was wondering how much you guys charge for a cake with figures on it.
How do you figure the price?
I've seen the pricing matrixes and other charts but I'm new to all this and they don't really make sense to me. icon_redface.gif

5 replies
DeezTreatz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DeezTreatz Posted 22 Nov 2010 , 10:52pm
post #2 of 6

Hey! icon_smile.gif

For the cake - if minimal decorations - and if you're new and still learning, depending where you live - I charge per slice. It could be anywhere from $2.00-$10.00
For Fondant - it could be anywhere from $4.00+ per slice

When I am asked to do gumpaste figures or flowers I charge per figure. (If you are comfortable with your work)

I have had an order similar before - but since I personally had never made a figure, and wasn't comfortable I just charged them for the gumpaste and food coloring.
I made the Star Trek Cast - with a teddy bear tutorial !! LOL They turned out very cute! icon_razz.gif

pinkpiggie78 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pinkpiggie78 Posted 22 Nov 2010 , 11:27pm
post #3 of 6

When I have creative control and I decide on a design with figures, I don't charge extra. If a figure(s) are requested, I charge per item $5 - $20 each depending on the difficulty.

amygortoncakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile