How Do I Make A Fondant Loop Bow For 8" Cake

Decorating By Kread Updated 21 Nov 2010 , 5:46pm by DeezTreatz

Kread Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kread Posted 20 Nov 2010 , 3:46pm
post #1 of 9

Hi,
I'm new to fondant, and I've seen a lot of bow tutorials for a 6" cake topper. My cake is 8" round. I don't want the bow to look too small on top. Can you tell me what size to cut my fondant strips to form the appropriately sized bow?

Thanks!!

8 replies
sugar_britches Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugar_britches Posted 20 Nov 2010 , 4:16pm
post #2 of 9

i'm making one also and the instructions i found said to cut strips approximately 9"x1.5". I havent actually put it on the cake yet so i'm not sure how it will look. I hope that helps.

SugarFiend Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarFiend Posted 20 Nov 2010 , 4:22pm
post #3 of 9

Whatever looks right. You might start out cutting a couple of 8" x 1" or 1 1/2" strips and doing a couple of test loops with them. Lay them out opposite each other on an upside-down 8" pan, and you'll get an idea of what the diameter will be if you continue with strips that size.

Loopy bows are pretty free-form. There's no right or wrong size - just whatever looks right to you. I think I cut my loops in gradually smaller sizes on the loopy bow I did, but I probably started out with 8" strips on the bottom layer.

Just play with it a little! HTH!

Folsomsweetcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Folsomsweetcakes Posted 20 Nov 2010 , 9:10pm
post #4 of 9

Thanks! 8" sounds like a good start!

DeezTreatz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DeezTreatz Posted 21 Nov 2010 , 12:25am
post #5 of 9

Hey!

For my 8" cakes - I do my loop bows: 5" x 1"
I just made one yesterday - u can check it out for size in my photos - It's teal!

Folsomsweetcakes Posted 21 Nov 2010 , 1:52am
post #6 of 9