Alternative To Expensive Airbrush Kit?

Decorating By dancindarlin23 Updated 20 Nov 2010 , 6:00pm by Amber0095

dancindarlin23 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dancindarlin23 Posted 16 Nov 2010 , 6:50am
post #1 of 8

Hello; I am wanting to make a Darth Vader cake and spray it black; however, since I don't do fancy cakes often at all I don't want to invest in an expensive airbrush machine. Anybody have any alternative ideas?
Would this work?
http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-SINGLE-ACTION-AIRBRUSH-TATTOO-NAIL-CAKE-ART-KIT-/300491416716?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item45f6af248c#ht_3411wt_1141

Or is it missing pieces?
I'm a complete newb; sorry. Thanks!

7 replies
doramoreno62 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
doramoreno62 Posted 16 Nov 2010 , 7:24am
post #2 of 8

Why dont you just buy the edible spray paint? Wilton makes them, they are called color mist. I think they cost around $3 per bottle. Check Sugarcraft.com they also sell a different brand. I don't know if the one on eBay will work for you, but the one you show does not include the compressor. I looked at the listing and you'd still have to buy it. The cheapest one they offer is $45.00. Good Luck!

tinygoose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tinygoose Posted 16 Nov 2010 , 8:26am
post #3 of 8

It is missing the compressor. That's the thing that pumps the air threw the airbrush. If you really don't want to invest, I'd also go with the Wilson spray food color in a can.

If you ever decide to get one I recommend Air Brush City dot com I love mine, it's great for just misting fondant with vodka to get rid of the cornstarch marks.

HowCoolGomo1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HowCoolGomo1 Posted 16 Nov 2010 , 8:31am
post #4 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by dancindarlin23

Hello; I am wanting to make a Darth Vader cake and spray it black; however, since I don't do fancy cakes often at all I don't want to invest in an expensive airbrush machine. Anybody have any alternative ideas?
Would this work?