When To Give The Bride The Numbers

Business By Voce Updated 18 Nov 2010 , 4:53pm by Jennzoe333

Voce Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Voce Posted 15 Nov 2010 , 4:43pm
post #1 of 17

Hi CC'ers,
I am a new cake business owner and I have a question I was wondering if you all could help me out with. When do you tell the client how much their cake will cost? Do you do it right there at the contract signing or do you wait until they "sign off" on your design? It just seems like there could be so many variables going into the cake that it would be tough to give them an accurate quote without having the entire design of the cake in mind.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts, they are much appreciated!

16 replies
jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 15 Nov 2010 , 4:55pm
post #2 of 17

You can certainly give the customer a price range during the tasting, saying basic cakes start at $X per serving, with more detailed cakes priced at $Y per serving or higher depending on difficulty.

KoryAK Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KoryAK Posted 15 Nov 2010 , 7:09pm
post #3 of 17

I guess that depends on how you run your consultation. At mine, we go thru lots of pictures and i sketch as we go so that they have a final design in place right there. Then while they are tasting the cake I work up a price. Done deal unless changes are made later and then that can change the price of course. If you are gathering ideas at the consultation, then sketching over the next week, then getting approval - I would just inform them of the price that goes along with each sketch so they can factor that into their decision making process.

GGFan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GGFan Posted 15 Nov 2010 , 7:18pm
post #4 of 17

KoryAK, Do you actually make them sign a contract before you give them a sketch? I read that a lot of people got burned not making them sign a contract. The bride took the pretty sketch and go somewhere else!