Making My Own Molds For Poured Sugar

Decorating By Renoir Updated 15 Nov 2010 , 7:51pm by MYOM-Dominic

Renoir Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Renoir Posted 13 Nov 2010 , 8:32pm
post #1 of 9

I searched here but did not find anything yet. I want to make a few molds to be used with poured sugar. I know I can use silicone, which I've never done before, but thought this idea would work. I have some polymer clay (Sculpy) and thought I could just make my impression in that, harden it in the oven, cool it, spray it with Pam, then pour into that. I would think the Pam would allow for release without the mold having to be flexible. Any thoughts?

Just had another thought. Maybe I don't even need to harden the mold. Just use the Sculpy while it is still soft.

8 replies
playingwithsugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
playingwithsugar Posted 14 Nov 2010 , 12:12am
post #2 of 9

While polymer clay is now considered non-toxic, you never know what chemicals escape when the heat of pour sugar is applied.

Go to this website -

www.chefrubber.com

They used to have instructions on how to make food-safe molds on their homepage.

Theresa icon_smile.gif

Renoir Posted 15 Nov 2010 , 2:46pm
post #3 of 9

Good site, but I have to do this in the next day. I'll give the Sculpy a try both ways and see what happens.

Hammonds Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Hammonds Posted 15 Nov 2010 , 2:55pm
post #4 of 9

I agree with playingwithsugar...the clay just isn't safe! The Sculpy books even say to not use the same tools that you use with the clay on food products.

Renoir Posted 15 Nov 2010 , 3:21pm
post #5 of 9

I appreciate that, but I probably find just as much on how it's probably fine to use as I do that it shouldn't be used. This is just one example, of course the source may be biased, but there were many other similar results in my search too:

http://www.polymerclaycentral.com/cyclopedia/pc_safety_th.html