Commercial Kitchen Renting...... Help

Business By hollyheartscuppycakes Updated 3 Apr 2014 , 8:00pm by KaraLynL

Normita Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Normita Posted 17 Nov 2010 , 5:58am
post #31 of 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonkraft

$1000/month in overhead is pretty high for a bakery with low-to-moderate volume operating out of a rented commercial kitchen. Our overhead (in the SF bay area) is roughly $500/month including rent (40 hours of kitchen time a month with on-site storage), insurance, and license fees.

I'm sorry I'm new to all this as I am just a hobby baker. But to clarify....you only pay $500 a month for rental space which includes insurance and fees?

ladyonzlake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ladyonzlake Posted 17 Nov 2010 , 3:27pm
post #32 of 59

See www.creativekitchenworks.biz

It's $500.00 for 80 hours a month...I'm not sure what insurance and fees you are referring to.

Your business liability insurance is separate and I don't know what fees everyone is referring to.

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 17 Nov 2010 , 3:50pm
post #33 of 59

The breakdown I did upthread was just to show the kind of output $17 an hour needs to have to stay afloat. It works out to a tremendous overhead if it carried out to more and more hours. You can simply get a better rate if you work more hours but I was just highlighting how high $17/hour is.

To me that's more of a make 100 jars of pasta sauce or jelly or something in a coupla hours. Sell it for $5 a jar. $100 for ingredients, $50 packaging, $34 for the kitchen--you'll clear some money. $17 an hour is not a good number to me to pop out designer cake.

jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 17 Nov 2010 , 3:58pm
post #34 of 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Normita

Quote: