Calling All Cc Users!

Decorating By Creativebakes Updated 10 Nov 2010 , 12:58am by Creativebakes

Creativebakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Creativebakes Posted 9 Nov 2010 , 6:41pm
post #1 of 17

I have alot of people asking me "How much would it cost if you make me a undecorated sheet cake?" So my questions is, would you charge someone a different rate for a plain sheet cake than for a nicely decorated themed cake? I'm new to this and I would really appreciate anyones opinions or comments. TIA

16 replies
BluntlySpeakingKarma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BluntlySpeakingKarma Posted 9 Nov 2010 , 6:52pm
post #2 of 17

Why on earth would someone want a plain undecorated sheet cake from someone who offers custom designs? That's what Walmart is for.

newcakester Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
newcakester Posted 9 Nov 2010 , 7:04pm
post #3 of 17

Sounds like trouble. You know what they want to do. They want to "decorate" the cake. That being said if you decide to sell the undecorated cake, I wouldn't charge the same as a decorated cake. It won't take you as long to complete so you should charge appropriately for your time.

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 9 Nov 2010 , 7:17pm
post #4 of 17

Is this for a wedding and for extra servings, typically called a kitchen cake? Or is it in reference to something else?

Creativebakes Posted 9 Nov 2010 , 7:20pm
post #5 of 17

Apparently they want it for themselves. But that being said, it still involves labor to make certain cakes from scratch. So I'm really struggling with the issue. Should I have two sets of prices or just tell people I only provide custom cakes and if they want an undecorated cake they should go to Walmart!!

Creativebakes Posted 9 Nov 2010 , 7:25pm
post #6 of 17

Would anyone sell a cake like that or would you just decline the business?

cattycornercakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cattycornercakes Posted 9 Nov 2010 , 7:35pm
post #7 of 17