Price Quote Question

Business By vwolf Updated 14 Nov 2010 , 3:36am by johnson6ofus

vwolf Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vwolf Posted 8 Nov 2010 , 9:31pm
post #1 of 9

I am just starting out. I was wondering when you ladies do quotes for cakes, do you follow up with the person after a certain period of time? If you don't here back from them do you just assume they made other arrangements and forget about it? Just wondering what everyones procedure is on these? TIA icon_smile.gif

8 replies
myrtlebeachbaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
myrtlebeachbaker Posted 8 Nov 2010 , 9:55pm
post #2 of 9

Alot of my buisness comes fom outside our area for destination weddings so my experience may or may not help you. To be honest...there are very few home bakers here to my knowledge, and only 2-3 of us have websites. Because of that, i would say 75% of the people who contact me use me. The rest I kind of play it off how I feel during the USUALLY online or over phone consult. If they seem very interested I will wait a week, then email them saying I received a call from another potential client for the same day, and because I was already speaking with THEM about that day, I want to check to see if they had decided to go with me before I booked someone else.

This ALMOST ALWAYS WORKS!!

I do let people know I do not book/hold there date without a 50% NON REFUNDABLE deposit! I also have a contract stating this as well!

Beyond that, I usually let it be. I am not the pushy salesman type.

Hope this helps!

costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 9 Nov 2010 , 12:02am
post #3 of 9