First Wedding Cake

Decorating By Christina1207 Updated 14 Nov 2010 , 2:29am by Christina1207

Christina1207 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Christina1207 Posted 6 Nov 2010 , 8:10pm
post #1 of 17

My first wedding cake is coming up in a couple of months. But since I am new to cake decorating I don't have a lot of supplies. The bride is a high school friend of my husbands and she wants a 4 tiered cake the first three are to be petal shaped cakes and then the top a heart.
She wants the bottom to be pleated, then the second half way up the tier covered in roses and leaves. Then the third and top tier stacked on top of each other but separated from the two bottom ones. Then third tier she wants lace patterns and the top just covered in roses.
I know I can do it since I made sure that the technique itself would be simple enough for me to do. The issue I have is how much do I tell her that it's going to cost. I don't mind if she doesn't pay for my time cause I am afraid that just the cost for the supplies will be high. The cake is only to be for 100 people. What do I do? Do I try to talk to her and scale it down? She wants it all in fondant. What would yall do?

16 replies
Chef_Stef Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Chef_Stef Posted 6 Nov 2010 , 11:46pm
post #2 of 17

You have some time, so figure first out what ingredients will cost and a possible guess at hours of time involved. Don't give your time away for free, unless you really really really want to do this as a gift. What you're describing sounds like a pretty tall order (time-wise) for a first wedding.

(note: Make SURE the heart top tier will fit on top of the petal 2nd tier. Just a thought. I miss things like that all the time, until it's time to stack them, and I find out they don't fit).

Fondant is NOT cheap, unless you're making it, so really, I'd try and give her a per serving price that is probably a good deal for her (if you're friends), but will still pay you for ingreds and time.