Barter Laws

Business By nniles38 Updated 1 Nov 2010 , 4:12am by 7yyrt

nniles38 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nniles38 Posted 31 Oct 2010 , 6:40am
post #1 of 8

I am an amateur cake decorator, SAHM, who is taking formal cake decorating classes at the local college. It was not my intent to become a professional cake decorator (although I'd love it) but as I progress through these classes I'm finding I have 3 problems. 1. My practice cakes are piling up in my fridge (my SECOND fridge!). 2. If I eat them, I gain weight icon_sad.gif 3. making them costs money. Now, I know that I could just practice on a "fake" cake, but the expense isn't in the cake, its in the frosting which I clearly can't fake.

Here's my dilemma. I'd like to sell my practice cakes. They're all beautiful and in this economy, I bet there are plenty of people out there who would like a nice cake at a discount price while I learn new techniques. But in Florida, selling homemade cakes is against the law. What I want to know is, has anyone ever bartered for their cakes when they first started? Of course I'm speaking specifically about states where selling homemade goods is illegal, but I'd also be interested in hearing the experiences of anyone who started out that way. The upside, the downside. Things to watch for, how to keep from getting ripped off.

Also, does anyone know if bartering is a viable way around the Florida law that prohibits selling homemade cakes. Or is bartering considered the same as selling? If not, could I barter for things like gift cards that would replace cash at places I shop at regularly?

7 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 31 Oct 2010 , 7:00am
post #2 of 8