6/8 In Or 8/10 In?

Decorating By traci_doodle Updated 1 Nov 2010 , 5:32pm by anoldhippy

traci_doodle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
traci_doodle Posted 29 Oct 2010 , 7:28pm
post #1 of 8

A friend asked me to do a cake for party. The party's for 40 people, but she said she wanted extra cake, so we decided on an 8/10 round set up. I'm still pretty new to this, but when I picture an 8 on top of a 10, and that's it, it looks pretty squat. I think part of the appeal for tiered cakes is the height. Would 6/8 in tiers look better? I thought maybe I could triple layer the cake so it would still be about the same amount of cake, but then it would look taller and elegant. Thoughts?

7 replies
AmysCakesNCandies Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AmysCakesNCandies Posted 29 Oct 2010 , 7:39pm
post #2 of 8

The 6 & 8 would be quite a stretch serving wise. A 6 & 8 serve 36 together and that is with the standard tiny wedding cake slice (1" &2") If your friend wants to have extra cake you should really go with the 8 & 10

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 29 Oct 2010 , 7:40pm
post #3 of 8

They'll look about the same, because the difference is still 2", meaning that you'll have a 1" ledge all the way around. The size difference between the tiers helps create the illusion of a taller, more elegant cake. Why don't you do a 6/10?

anoldhippy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
anoldhippy Posted 29 Oct 2010 , 7:48pm
post #4 of 8

Great questionl I am doing a wedding cake and most bakeries tell me they make 3 layers per tier. How high are their layers? Thanks

snocilla Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
snocilla Posted 29 Oct 2010 , 7:49pm
post #5 of 8

I agree with Texas_Rose. I would recommend 6/10. A 4-inch difference between tiers looks a lot better anyway, IMO.

AmysCakesNCandies Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AmysCakesNCandies Posted 29 Oct 2010 , 7:50pm
post #6 of 8

i do 3 2" layers most of the time