Question: Do Sprinkles Go Bad?

Decorating By imartsy Updated 26 Oct 2010 , 3:15am by cheatize

imartsy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
imartsy Posted 24 Oct 2010 , 7:14pm
post #1 of 7

I'm in the process of moving (to Columbus, OH) and I'm trying to pack up all of my cake stuff (good ideas for packing welcome!)

Anyway, I'm wondering if some of my ingredients are still good - you know, those ingredients that don't have a date on them. Such as sprinkles.... do sprinkles go bad? Do you need to throw them out? When?

And cocoa powder - does that go bad? Or chocolate? I know chocolate can bloom so it gets white spots, but I think it's still good for eating, right?

Hope some of you know because I have no idea! icon_smile.gif I'm just a hobby baker, so I don't get to bake as often as I would like and have some ingredients I haven't used up yet. Certainly don't want to keep them around if they are bad!

6 replies
CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 24 Oct 2010 , 7:42pm
post #2 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by imartsy

do sprinkles go bad?

According to the web site of one manufacturer;
Shelf life: 24 months
Storage Requirements: Store in a cool, dry area

(of course, I've eaten sprinkles that were way beyond a 2-year shelf life!)

I'm sure you could find Product Specifications online from the manufacturer of your specific product, if you wanted to research it further. (to me... if it smells good, looks good, and tastes good, I'll eat it.)

imartsy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
imartsy Posted 24 Oct 2010 , 7:47pm
post #3 of 7

Maybe I'll throw out the super old ones..... but I can't seem to find anything on Wilton's site for their sprinkles... can anyone else?

CWR41 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CWR41 Posted 24 Oct 2010 , 8:10pm
post #4 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by imartsy

can anyone else?