Fresh Flowers On Cakes

Decorating By LT09 Updated 25 Oct 2010 , 3:22am by LT09

LT09 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LT09 Posted 21 Oct 2010 , 3:42pm
post #1 of 10

Hi everyone!!,
I am doing a anniversary cake this weekend with fresh Mums and was wondering when I can add the flowers to the cake? I have never worked with fresh flowers before so I don't know how soon is to soon? I wanted to add them before delievery but she lives 1Hr30mins away. Does anyone have experiance with this?

9 replies
auzzi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auzzi Posted 23 Oct 2010 , 4:17am
post #2 of 10

I wouldn't ..

They should not sit on any part of the decorated cake.

Are the flowers certified pesticide- and fungicide-free?

They are rate as Toxicity Category 3 ie a plant that can produce mild-moderate stomach upset or dermatitis.

Fresh flowers can be a problem in regards to cake decorating ..

apetricek Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
apetricek Posted 23 Oct 2010 , 5:02am
post #3 of 10

I would do a search to see how safe they are to be around food. If they are in fact safe, I would try to wrap the stems in floral tape to protect the cake from the stems, and I would put on at the site, not before. I know there are a lot of flowers that are a no no for cakes. I almost did a wedding with hydrangea flowers, to find out that they can cause severe vomitting and stomach discomfort, and sometimes are poisonous. So I made them out of gum paste...just google it to make sure there is not a problem, better to cover your butt then have a lot of sick/unhappy people...

beenie51 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beenie51 Posted 23 Oct 2010 , 5:31am
post #4 of 10

If food safe you can also use wiltons flower spikes. the spike push into the cake and you put the flowers in the spikes. I have used succesfully when adding roses to a cake.

LT09 Posted 24 Oct 2010 , 11:51am
post #5 of 10