Help With Autumn Cake

Decorating By kristiemarie Updated 26 Oct 2010 , 2:47am by kristiemarie

kristiemarie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kristiemarie Posted 20 Oct 2010 , 7:52pm
post #1 of 7

Hi all! Newbie here! Hoping you can all help me out here.

I have just recently dabbled in the art of cake decorating and now I wonder if I'm in over my head! LOL

For my daughters birthday party at her daycare, I made a Spongebob cake. The figures of Spongebob and Patrick turned out great but since they were made of MMF, they were soft and well, you know. The fondant cover? Ooo, that's another story all together. What a mess! But I knew what I had done wrong and am planning on fixing it this time around.

Everyone at the daycare loved my cake and so I gained some confidence to try again.

However, now I have a new problem. Or rather, several new problems.

I agreed (er, rather volunteered) to make a cake for the autumn festival. Which is a week from tomorrow. I went and got leaf cutters and gum paste mix (not sure if that was my mistake). I made some leaves and let them dry. They turned out ok. Except that they look dry. How do you fix that?

I also attempted (that's the best word I can use to describe what transpired that night) to make a gumpaste dog (sitting). It was turning out so cute and I finished with him looking only slightly weird. But 30 minutes later, he was literally melting! His head was down where his shoulder used to be. His legs were now stubs in front. And he was cracking all over! What did I do wrong?

Any help or suggestions would be welcomed!!!

6 replies
mikigaelen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mikigaelen Posted 20 Oct 2010 , 8:08pm
post #2 of 7

What I would suggest would be to rub a little shortening on your dog and rework him again, this time with some wire supports (only if he isn't going to be eaten, otherwise use coffee stir straws).