"dummy Cake?" Whats The Best Way ....

Decorating By Formynana Updated 19 Oct 2010 , 2:55am by Formynana

Formynana Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Formynana Posted 17 Oct 2010 , 11:56pm
post #1 of 9

I see people have made "dummy cakes" .. as a newbie here, does that mean the "cakes" arent cake? whats the best thing to use then for a prop to cover ? Thanks!

8 replies
Marianna46 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Marianna46 Posted 18 Oct 2010 , 12:11am
post #2 of 9

You can get "dummy" cake tiers in any of several shapes and sizes from cake supply stores and mail-order places. They're usually made of styrofoam. You can cover and stack them just like they were real cake tiers. They tend to come out a lot nicer than real cakes because they're very regular in shape and the edges are crisp (unlike a lot of fresh-from-the-oven cakes!). If you're covering them with fondant, you'll need to moisten them with a little something (I use a spray bottle of water) so that the fondant will stick to them. Another nice thing about them is that they can be re-used. They're excellent for display cakes that need to last a long time, for competition cakes (where this is allowed) and for building up a portfolio of different types of decoration when you haven't had orders for certain kinds of cake (I'm working on a series of dummy wedding cakes, myself). If you're interested, get yourself an assortment of them and have fun creating!

careylynn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
careylynn Posted 18 Oct 2010 , 12:13am
post #3 of 9

Styrofoam!! Most baker supply stores carry them or you can order them online like I do. You can get them pretty cheap, like $.50-$3.00 depending on the size and shape. Google cake dummies to find an online supplier. I know www.**********.com is one of them.

K1976 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
K1976 Posted 18 Oct 2010 , 12:27am
post #4 of 9