Freezing Cakes

Decorating By toni1218 Updated 18 Oct 2010 , 1:10pm by leily

toni1218 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
toni1218 Posted 17 Oct 2010 , 4:58pm
post #1 of 10

I am baking a cake for my daughters birthday and unfortunately I have a really busy week before. I was planning on baking them on Friday and decorate it on the Saturday. I now have a birthday party to attend on the Friday. Any suggestions on what I should do? I want them to be fresh but it seems that I have no choice to bake them and freeze them. Do you think that baking them the Sunday before and freezing them will be ok? I guess my questions are what is the best way to package them up for the freezer and how to best thaw them out. I take it they need to be thawed out completey. Oh... also if I am torting a cake into two layers, is it best to tort it before freezing or after. Sorry for all the questions but I am new to this and never had to freeze the cakes.

Thanks icon_smile.gif

9 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 17 Oct 2010 , 5:04pm
post #2 of 10

In the baking world, the freezer is your friend, not your enemy.

I wrapped my cakes in saran wrap when they were still slightly warm (trapping the steam aka "moisture" in the cake) and threw 'em in the freezer. Cakes only take a few minutes to thaw (from 10 to 30 minutes depending on the size) so you'd only have to remove them from teh freezer the morning you're going to work on them.

Leave them wrapped in the saran while they thaw. (When we remove bread or other items from the freezer to thaw, we don't lay the bread slices out on the counter or unwrap the chicken first. We leave it in the plastic wrap.)