I Need Help....i'm Soooo Confused

Decorating By Rhiannon1121 Updated 17 Oct 2010 , 6:33am by leah_s

Rhiannon1121 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rhiannon1121 Posted 17 Oct 2010 , 3:05am
post #1 of 12

Ok so I had a cake order for 8 servings...small party. Anyways I figured i'd do it by slice $2.50 for fondant, since i'm a newbie and figured that was how it was done. I spent more money in ingredients!!! icon_mad.gif $30 I charged for this cake. How am I supposed to charge by the slice if it doesn't cover my costs? Sorry, but i'm frustrated and confused!! Please HELP!!!

11 replies
JanelleH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanelleH Posted 17 Oct 2010 , 3:20am
post #2 of 12

Try starting the other way around - do the research to figure up how much the supplies will cost, add a wage for yourself based on how much time you think it will take to complete, and then divide that total by how many servings the cake will be. That will give you a better ballpark figure for how much your normal cost per serving should be. It may be just me, but $2.50 for fondant sounds pretty cheap; closer to the price of a buttercream cake. HTH.

leily Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leily Posted 17 Oct 2010 , 3:23am
post #3 of 12

what size cake did you actually provide? My guess is that you made a cake that served a lot more than 8 servings and you only charged them for what they wanted instead of what you provided.

A 6" round still serves 16 and an 8" serves 25. So you would have had to make them a 5" round cake 4" tall to get close to their 8 servings, which is WAY under my minimum order (which is an 8" cake, takes one cake recipe and one batch of buttercream)

all4cake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
all4cake Posted 17 Oct 2010 , 3:29am
post #4 of 12

Please, tell me it was not for the fall birthday cake in your photos!

step0nmi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
step0nmi Posted 17 Oct 2010 , 3:46am
post #5 of 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by all4cake