How To Display Auction Cake Without Getting Germs On It?

Decorating By CharliesMom09 Updated 10 Oct 2010 , 9:41am by Coral3

CharliesMom09 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CharliesMom09 Posted 9 Oct 2010 , 4:52pm
post #1 of 12

I'm a novice, making a cake for the cake silent auction at our school's fall festival. The cakes will all be out on tables for people to look at and write down their bids. I know from last year that the cakes are mostly simply homemade/frosted, and they're covered by sticking toothpicks in them and wrapping with saran wrap. My cake will be a bit fancier than that... one tier farm scene with a barn on top, fondant figures, etc. I hate the thought of sticking toothpicks in it! The little window in a cake box wouldn't allow it to be displayed well. Any ideas to display the cake yet keep away the germs from the many people who will be near it? TIA!

11 replies
denetteb Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
denetteb Posted 9 Oct 2010 , 4:59pm
post #2 of 12

Can you make it so it fits on a plate that works with a cake dome? I have one that is glass that fits on a glass tiered plate. I have also used it on other glass plates I have. I would worry not only about germs, but people will want to touch your figures if it isn't covered.

jammjenks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jammjenks Posted 9 Oct 2010 , 7:33pm
post #3 of 12

I put mine in a box w/o a lid. Then cover loosely with plastic wrap. Make a sign that says "Thank you for not touching this cake."

It does take away from the effect to have to cover it in plastic, but I don't know another way around it unless you were to put it in a shadow box or something.

leily Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leily Posted 9 Oct 2010 , 7:39pm
post #4 of 12