Quality Vs. Quantity

Business By dm321 Updated 1 Oct 2010 , 7:46pm by Annso

dm321 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dm321 Posted 30 Sep 2010 , 9:07pm
post #1 of 29

Doesnt anyone consider the caliber of work when pricing?

I see a lot of posts where people are requesting pricing advice. Seems like a lot of the feedback only accounts for the size of the cake, how detailed it is, and how much it costs to make. Although I agree with this advice, I also think its important to consider the caliber of the artist. Just because a cake may be a certain number of pieces, or may have a lot of tiny details does not mean its actually worth what someone else might be able to charge.

Ive seen a lot of cakes on this site that are pretty impressive for home-bakers & hobbyist but just because someone enjoys baking/decorating cakes (and may even do a decent job at it) does not mean they are entitled to charge an arm & a leg for them.

As a hobbyist, I feel very privileged to have access to a great site like this where not only do we get to mingle with the pros but theyre kind enough to give us advice & encourage us to keep on cakin. Ive often wondered what must go through the minds of these truly talented artists when they see mediocre (and in some cases, blatantly shoddy) cakes being passed off as if in the same category as their own amazing cake creations.

Just my thoughts... icon_redface.gif
~diem

28 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 30 Sep 2010 , 10:21pm
post #2 of 29

I agree with you but you will find that many on here don't want a critique of their work. Many CC'ers offer pricing with caution simply because there are so many factors involved .... area of the country, competition, the market you're in, whether supplies are bought wholesale or in a grocery store, if the baker even has a walmart close to them (I knwo that sounds odd but believe it or not, walmart isn't conveniently located to everyone! icon_surprised.gif ), etc.